<u>Year I</u>



What unites our Kingdom?

Knowledge Organiser



Key Vocabulary	Key Information	
United Kingdom - The United Kingdom is made up of four countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Island - An area of land surrounded by water. Capital city - A town or city where the government sits. Landmark - A feature of a landscape or place that is easily recognised. It could be something made by people or something that has occurred naturally (a physical feature). Big Ben is a landmark in London. Map - A specially drawn picture of a place from above. Town - A built up area with a name. Weather - The state of the atmosphere at a particular time and place with respect to conditions.	England England is the largest country in the UK. London is the capital city. Many parts of England are flat but there is also lots of rural countryside with rolling hills and valleys in the north. <u>Northern Ireland</u> Northern Ireland is the smallest country in the UK. Belfast is the capital city. One of the most famous landmarks is Giant's Causeway. (Natural rock steps mostly hexagonal in shape)	Scotland Scotland is a country in the north of the UK. Edinburgh is the capital city . Scotland has large mountains including Ben Nevis, which is the largest in the UK. Wales is a mountainous country in the west of the UK. Cardiff is the capital city . Wales has its own language (Welsh)

